Calcutta high court to get a new chief justice today – Times of India

Kolkata News
KOLKATA: Justice Prakash Shrivastava will be administered oath as the chief justice of Calcutta high court on Monday, governor Jagdeep Dhankhar said in a statement.
Justice Shrivastava was born on March 31, 1961. He was enrolled as advocate on February 2, 1987. He had practised on tax, civil and constitutional matters in the Supreme Court. He became a judge of the Madhya Pradesh high court in 2008. In 2010, he was appointed as a permanent judge.

Justice Prakash Shrivastava

After Justice TBN Radhakrishnan retired in April this year, Justice Rajesh Bindal had been functioning as the acting chief justice of Calcutta high court. Justice Bindal has now been appointed as the Allahabad high court chief justice.
In a statement, the governor said he would administer the oath/affirmation of office to Justice Shrivastava at 11am om Monday at the high court’s Court Room 1.
Calcutta high court now has 36 judges against a sanctioned strength of 72.
One judge is set to retire in December this year and three in 2022.
The Supreme Court collegium has already recommended the re-transfer of justice Joymalya Bagchi, now a judge in the Andhra Pradesh high court back to the Calcutta high court.
The collegium has also recommended elevation of two advocates, Sakya Sen and Soubhik Mitter as judges in the Calcutta high court.